Killing Ruby Rose – Jessie Humphries

Killing.Ruby.RoseBook one of Ruby Rose. First published May 1st 2014 by Skyscape.

Genre: Young Adult Thriller/Suspense

Note: To view spoilers, highlight the white text.

In sunny Southern California, seventeen-year-old Ruby Rose is known for her killer looks and her killer SAT scores. But ever since her dad, an LAPD SWAT sergeant, died, she’s also got a few killer secrets.

I have to admit, in this case I did judge the book by its cover and the main reason I bought it was because it was so pretty to look at. I even let my sister read it first without arguing about who had dibs. She devoured it and urged me to read it so that we could discuss it, which piqued my curiosity. My sister – much like me – is very vocal about books she loves and we recommend them to each other so that we can properly discuss and dissect the nuances of the text.

So, of course, I HAD to read it ASAP.

Killing Ruby Rose was so much more than I expected. I was ready for some watered-down Veronica Mars type story but Killing Ruby Rose took a turn in an unexpected direction.

The story was more gritty than I expected it to be. Ruby has real issues and the therapy part of the story felt real. Her issues weren’t brushed over, but addressed and incorporated into the story. The plot itself didn’t pull any punches. Some things,like when Ruby has to ally herself with a rapist, were hard to swallow but the way the dilemma was presented made you understand why Ruby made the choices she did.

One thing that did frustrate me was Ruby’s inability to put some things together. She’s meant to be very smart and she’s been stalking her targets for a while, compiling information to build a case, yet she can’t see what is in front of her. It could be understandable at points – especially for the bigger plot twists – because she is under a lot of stress, but some of the things seemed glaringly obvious and it was a bit disappointing that the reader could put the clues together and the amazing Ruby couldn’t.

The romance with Liam was well-written, and at no point overwhelmed the story: it was a thriller to the end which I liked. He was supportive of Ruby and with her every step of the way. However, some of the other supporting characters needed more development, like Ruby’s mother. We got told that she was cold and unloving and left to rely on Ruby’s assessment of her. We learnt more about her dead father than we did about the people surrounding Ruby, and although he is an integral part to Ruby’s development, it was a bit disappointing to have a well-rounded main character surrounded by two-dimensional ‘extras’.

The conclusion wrapped up enough questions to not leave you feeling cheated out of answers and enough open for a sequel. I’m interested to see how Ruby’s new living situation pans out and how the revelations she faces about her past affect her future.

Score

7/10

Recommended to…

Fans of Veronica Mars or other crime shows. The Gallagher Girls series is also a good choice if you want something more lighthearted but with teenage girls still kicking ass – this time as spies, not vigilantes.

Leave a comment